The Community Development Department administers programs in the areas of homeownership, property management, and housing rehabilitation.

Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) prohibits discrimination in housing because of race or color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women and people securing custody of children under 18), or handicap or disability.
New Construction in Faribault
Equal Housing Opportunity Logo



No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:

  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection or rental
  • Make housing unavailable
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing
  • Refuse to rent housing
  • Provide different housing services of facilities
  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for rental of a dwelling

For more information, please contact the Community Development Department for a copy of Fair Housing: It’s Your Right or Landlords and Tenants: Rights and Responsibilities, or visit HUD's website.

2018 Rice County Housing Study